Knoxville, TN Scruffy City Hall
Chattanooga, TN Revelry Room
New Madrid
Athens, GA Georgia Theatre
New Madrid


Pitchfork: New Madrid “Manners”

“If you're looking for Southern indie rock bands, Athens, Georgia is a great place to start, and New Madrid certainly embrace their surroundings on their upcoming LP Sunswimmer (out February 25); it's their first for Athens-based label Normaltown, the sister label of New West (Drive-By TruckersVic Chesnutt) and produced by former Sugar bassist David Barbe, who's chief of the Chase Park Transduction Studio (DeerhunterAnimal CollectiveBright Eyes) and director of the University of Georgia's Music Business program.”

Source: Pitchfork

Blurt Review

"It’s one of the still-young year’s most out-of-the-blue delights, and infused with enough staying power to potentially wind up on best-of lists come 2014’s close."

Source: Blurt

Pop Matters Reviews Sunswimmer

"That New Madrid can pull off so many seeming opposites at once on Sunswimmer is impressive, but the fact that they’re housed in such striking, well-crafted songs, is what makes this album so strong."

Source: Pop Matters



Release Date: 02/25/2014
  1. All Around the Locust
  2. Manners
  3. Forest gum
  4. Dead legs
  5. Find my Blood
  6. Homesick
  7. And She Smiles

Recorded during a cool, rainy July, under the direction of David Barbe (Deerhunter, Drive-By Truckers), the aural landscapes forged in Sunswimmer become almost palpable. Combining reverb-drenched vocal harmonies, soaring underwater noise and floating, meandering melodies, the sounds don't exit the speakers as much as they condense and hang in the air like the humid Athens summer that birthed them.


Release Date: 08/12/2012
  1. Bee Rapture
  2. Magnetoception
  3. Country Moon Pt. I
  4. Pond
  5. Country Moon Pt. II
  6. Sand Mountain
  7. Fountains of Gold
  8. Shout Mountain
  9. Summer Dream Sigh
  10. Houseboat
  11. Juniper


Dawn Teeth Rattling - PROMO

Forest Gum

Manners - Audiotree Live

"Houseboat": SXSW 2013 Showcasing Artist

About New Madrid

From the southern wilds of Athens, GA comes young four-piece, New Madrid. Their music is a dynamic mixture of underwater-psych-rock that engages the listener in fully textured aural landscapes, both on record and live. Their acclaimed 2012 independent debut, Yardboat - engineered by David Barbe (Deerhunter, Drive-By Truckers) at Chase Park Transduction- displayed the band's inherent talents and introduces a distinctive sound budding with sonic energy. In their ever-thriving music- mecca hometown, Yardboat garnered "Album of the Year," and the band's formula of constant touring and creative restlessness earned them "Artist of the Year" at the Flagpole Music Awards. In the summer of 2013, New Madrid signed to local start-up Normaltown Records, and entered the studio to record what would become Sunswimmer. Their second full-length finds New Madrid further exploring depths of psychedelia and textured noise.

The new record presents a New Madrid audibly settled into itself. Focused into a collection of collaborative songs, the band delves into a more experimental soundscape. Recorded solely on analog tape during a cool, wet July – once again under the direction of David Barbe - Sunswimmer telegraphs a newly confident self-knowledge, from the assertive opening riff of the churning “Manners” to the infectious driving beat behind “Forest Gum.” The tracks here are more concentrated than Yardboat’s offerings, but fans of New Madrid’s expansive tendencies will be sated by the record’s final 25 minutes, which are characterized by two linear compositions (“Homesick” and “And She Smiles”). The album's body of music was conceived as a singular piece and is best consumed that way.

In a digital age, when song snippets skip cross-country on the backs of broadband, Sunswimmer is a testament that making music for shared space still remains. With their sophomore album, New Madrid continues to redefine...